Creation: Winkelman & Merlin - Cello Concertos; Premieres musicales

Peter Szabo, Nicolas Altstaedt - Cello
Helena Winkelman, Ilya Gringolts, Meesun Hong-Coleman, Vilde Frang, Tatiana Grindenko, Gidon Kremer - Violin
Timothy Ridout - Viola
Zsolt Fejervari - Double bass
Johannes Julius Fischer - Percussion
Julian Hedenborg, Joonas Ahonen, Nicholas Rimmer - Piano
Lockenhaus Strings
Kremerata Baltica

"Forty years have passed since Gidon Kremer created a little musical oasis in the Austrian town of Lockenhaus in 1981. The violinist's open-minded attitude has left it's mark on this event, which has become a must in the concert calendar, and the cellist Nicolas Altstaedt, who took up the torch in 2012, continues the same philosophy. For this fortieth anniversary, he has decided to call on composers who have come to Lockenhaus or had works performed there in the past ten years. Hence the program contains two premieres - the cello concertos of Raphaël Merlin and Helena Winkelman - but also short pieces by Erkki-Sven Tüür, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Lera Auerbach, Patkop, Maja Ratkje, Matan Porat, Kurt Schwertsik and Johannes Fischer. Musical postcards that celebrate the anniversary while foreshadowing the next forty years!"


Tonträger 1

1 I. Passacaglia - Atlas and Heracles
2 II. Adagietto fluido - The Golden Apples In The Garden Of The Hesperides
3 III. Perpetuum mobile - Ladon The Dragon
4 Sonett
5 Fragment
6 Memo
7 Inventio

8 Wer weiss
9 Nicht zusammen. doch zusammen
10 Nein
11 Nostalgic
12 Giocoso-Serioso
13 Intermezzo
14 Hymn
15 Locken-House/Un-Locked
16 Two Fragments for Lockenhaus: Ritual
17 Pentatonic Chain

See: Sea & Seeds. Si!:
18 I. See
19 II. Sea20 III. Seeds21 IV. Si!
22 Still Here23 Don't Prolong Goodbyes




For video recordings please visit my Youtube channel.

Péter Szabó's recordings are available on

Buy online on Amazon or stream online on Spotify or Apple Music.